My summer reading list: Bethany Hazen


Bethany Hazen
Creative nonfiction, Incoming

Cork Dork by Bianca Bosker – An immersion into extreme wine culture, written by a skeptical outsider turned sommelier-in-training, plus science? Yes, I am interested in that.

Get Well Soon by Jennifer Ashley Wright – Microbes, viruses, and maybe parasites (but probably not parasites) and their historical impact on scientific development for medical interventions. Did you enjoy polio as a child? Me neither! Thank you, Jonas Salk. FYI, the eponymous Salk Institute in La Jolla has beautiful architecture and views worth visiting, especially at sunset.

Pond by Claire-Louise Bennett – It has been on my bookshelf, waiting for an indulgent one-sit read fest.

The Kindness Diaries by Leon Logothetis – I’m hoping for a little restoration of my faith in human kind. I actually swiped this book from a Little Free Library on a recent visit to Seattle; I left The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith behind, to balance the universe.

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – Honestly, I hope to start this, but disabuse anyone of the expectation I will finish by the end of summer. To remedy: I have no DFW readings to date. I know; I’m excited for me, too!

Leave a Reply

