STUDENTS: 2007 award winners

This past Friday night’s MFA convocation reading was preceded by the annual awards ceremony for the English Department’s creative writing prizes. Pictured above, from left, are the award winners who were in attendance: Kristin FitzPatrick, James Tyner, Stacy C. Brand, Lisa Lieberman, Logan Perkes, Megan Baptista, Sasha Pimentel, and Eric Parker.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Fresno Creative Nonfiction Prize
Stacy C. Brand, “Happens After”
Lisa Lieberman, “The Boy”
Honorable mention: Eric Parker, “Raising the Dead”

Fresno Fiction Prize
Kristin FitzPatrick, “Conlan’s Nursery”

Ernesto Trejo Poetry Prize (graduate student)
Co-sponsored by the Academy of American Poets
James Tyner, “Asking My Father About a Scar On His Arm Over Dinner”
Honorable mention: Sasha Pimentel, “Before Dinner”
Honorable mention: Marcus Chinn, “The Black Sun”

Larry Levis Poetry Prize (undergraduate)
Co-sponsored by the Academy of American Poets
Megan Baptista, “The Linguica Prayer”

Also honored were the English Department’s nominees for the Arts & Humanities outstanding student awards. Logan Perkes was the Outstanding Thesis Award Nominee from the entire college for her manuscript, “Making the Bed: Essays and Poems.” The Graduate Dean’s Medal Nominees were Jefferson Beavers (MFA) and Guiseppe Getto (both MFA and MA).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s