My summer reading list: Lillian Faderman

Today is the second installment of “My Summer Reading List,” a look at what books the MFA faculty will be reading in the coming months.

Today’s recommendations are from Lillian Faderman, who says: “I have a huge stack of books I want to read this summer, but these are on top.”

Tracy Kidder, My Detachment. “This is a memoir, about a year spent in Vietnam (fighting a war in which he didn’t believe), by one of my favorite creative nonfiction writers. Though it didn’t get terrific reviews, I’m really interested in seeing how Kidder, who often disappears as a narrator in his immersion journalism, treats the personal.”

Joan Didion, The Year Of Magical Thinking. “Didion is one of my favorite essayists but I’ve put off reading this memoir, which is about devastation in her life: her daughter’s illness, the death of her husband of forty years, and her difficulty in holding together after so much tragedy.”

Frank McCourt, Teacher Man. “This is the third book in McCourt’s memoir trilogy. This one is about his thirty-year career as a high school teacher in New York public schools. I’ve been interested in McCourt’s work since Angela’s Ashes, but now–having just reread Kidder’s Among Schoolchildren–I’m especially interested in seeing how McCourt deals from a more personal perspective with teaching under difficult circumstances.”

Coming Thursday: Tim Skeen’s list.

Leave a Reply

