STUDENTS: Class of 2006

Spring and summer creative writing graduates from the class of 2006 gave public readings on Friday night, April 28, at the annual MFA program Convocation. Twelve students in all read excerpts from their thesis manuscripts: nine in poetry, two in fiction, and one in creative nonfiction.

Pictured, from left, are: Bruce Kincaid, Nao Tai, Michael Maniquiz, David Hurst, Andrea Mortimer Rhoads, Debora Palmer, Angela Armstrong, Vuong Quoc Vu, Megan Bohigian, Pilar Graham, and Navdeep Dhillon.

The twelfth graduate, Elizabeth Warren, could not attend. Her final reading was delivered via videotape.

All nine graduating poets, respectively, had MFA program director Corrinne Clegg Hales as their thesis chair. The poets gave their mentor an armful of gifts at the end of the evening, to show their appreciation. (Pictured, from left, is Armstrong, Hales, Bohigian, and Rhoads.)

About 150 people attended the Convocation, held in the new Peters Educational Center, the lecture hall inside the Student Recreation Center at Shaw and Woodrow avenues.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s